Please pardon our dust...This page is still under construction

Modular Projects

Your project can be anything from an afghan or pillow assembled from crocheted Granny Squares, fancier crocheted or knit squares, to a sweater for our year-long Sweater KAL/CAL!

Please feel free to share any ideas you may have!


Your pieces don't have to be square. How about a knit hexagon swirl motif, like the Sagrantino Shawl (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sagrantino-shawl)? I've made this one, and the pattern is very well written and easy to understand!

Or a fan motif, like the knitted Fan Shawl (in fingering weight) by Gail Tanquary (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fan-shawl-fingering)?

A cute (knit) diamond motif to try is this Modular Scarf by Anne Rousseau. (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/modular-scarf-2). If this is anything like the jacket I made from Patricia Werner's Dazzling Knits: Building Blocks to Creative Knitting book (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/dazzling-knits-building-blocks-to-creative-knitting) book, this one is really easy.  You pick up stitches, decreasing until you have only one tail per diamond to weave in later.

Here's a beautiful crocheted hexagon pattern, with stars of different sizes: Star Struck Shawlette by Rae Blackledge (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/star-struck-shawlette). Or this crocheted one, n°04 Chèche au Crochet from Bergère de France (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/n04-cheche-au-crochet). Although the original pattern is in French, it is available in English.

Or try this Join-as-You-Go crochet motif wrap: Thredbo Wrap by Crochetroo (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/thredbo-wrap).

If you like a more graphic, clean look, there's Frankie Brown's Syrian Squares knit wrap (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/syrian-squares).

Working from Japanese charts is fun, and surprisingly easy! Here's a fully charted crochet motif pattern, 29-29 Motif Crochet Shawl from Pierrot (Gosyo Co., Ltd) (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/29-29-motif-crochet-shawl). Follow the link, and click to the right of the little pattern motif (it's the one that looks like a little "sewing pattern", under the "button" for the notions link).

And Hey! If you still like the traditional Granny Square (and who doesn't?), here's a link from Teresa Richardson for her Traditional Granny Square (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/traditional-granny-square-5). She includes a link to her free video tutorial.

January-March 2018 Knit-a-long/Crochet-a-long


Let's keep it simple, to start the new year, and just pick a few shawls to do as a group. These are all free patterns.
Pick one (or as many as you like) to do, and bring it to our March meeting for Show and Tell!
**Knit:**
This one uses a single skein of sock yarn in a variegated color way: Reyna—
(https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/reyna)
This one looks interesting: Rhapsody in Lace and Ruffles—
(https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rhapsody-in-lace-and-ruffles)
Close to You -
(https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/close-to-you) was designed to show off a skein of hand dyed yarn.
**Crochet:**
Lost in Time - (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lost-in-time) (If you liked the one I made during the last
CAL, and you didn't do one, this is your chance!)
Here's another fun one, Road Trip Scarves - (https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/road-trip-scarves)
This one is nice in a gradient, but would be fun in stripes, too! Pom Pom Happiness Shawl -
(https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pom-pom-happiness-shawl)

Copyright 2017 El Segundo Slipt Stitchers  

The El Segundo Slipt Stitchers Guild is not responsible for the content found at websites that are linked to from this page.  Please use care when clicking on links.